The Nomination Committee is chaired by Peter Hindley, the Non-Executive Chairman. The other members of the Committee are Jane Ashcroft, Ishbel Macpherson, Alan McWalter and Martin Pexton.

The Committee regularly reviews and makes recommendations to the Board on the structure, size and composition of the Board and the senior management team. It is also responsible for identifying and nominating, for the approval of the Board, replacement or additional Directors and members of the senior management team. Such appointments would be preceded by the preparation, by the Committee, of a role description and capabilities.

The Nomination Committee and by extension the Board strongly supports the spirit of Lord Davies’ Report "Women on Boards" and will work towards a goal of 20 per cent of board positions filled by women by 2015. To facilitate achievement of this aspiration, as retiring Directors are replaced, the Committee will ensure that our executive search agents include the strongest possible field of female candidates. We will however remain mindful of the overall need to recruit the very best candidates regardless of gender. The Board will continue to encourage similar diversity in senior management positions throughout the workforce.

The Committee formally considers succession planning annually under the written terms of reference.

Top of page