Appointment of Additional Non-Executive Directors

Dignity plc, the listed funeral services group, is pleased to announce the following appointments to its Board:

Ishbel Macpherson has been appointed an Independent Non-Executive Director. Ishbel is a Non-Executive Director of MITIE Group plc, GAME Group plc and Senior Independent Director of Hydrogen Group plc and Speedy Hire plc. Prior to those roles she held senior positions with Barclays de Zoete Wedd, Hoare Govett and Dresdner Kleinwort Wasserstein.

Alan McWalter has also been appointed an Independent Non-Executive Director. Alan is a Non-Executive Director of Trafficmaster plc, Cattles plc, Alphameric plc, Haygarth Group Ltd and is Non-Executive Chairman of Constantine Group plc. Prior to these roles Alan was Marketing Director of Marks and Spencer plc and prior to that held senior positions with Kingfisher plc and Thomson Consumer Electronics.

Under s822 of the Companies Act 2006 neither director has a notifiable shareholding in the Company.

The newly appointed directors will also become members of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination sub-committees of the Board. These appointments mean that there will an equal number of independent non-executive directors to executive directors serving on the Board in addition to the newly appointed non-executive Chairman.

Dignity plc
Tel: 0121 354 1557
Mike McCollum
Chief Executive
Richard Portman
Corporate Services Director

Buchanan Communications
0207 466 5000
Mark Edwards

Back to Article index

Top of page