Changes to the Board of Directors

Following our announcement on 28 June 2017, Dignity announces that its Operations Director, Andrew Davies will retire from the Board of Dignity plc with effect from 5 January 2018 and will cease to be an employee of Dignity plc with effect from 27 April 2018. 

As previously advised, Andrew will continue to be connected with the Group, after his retirement, assisting with the funeral home acquisition programme but will not have any operational involvement in the funeral division nor will he be a director of any company within the wider Dignity Group.  His successor, an internal appointment who will not be a Director of Dignity, is already in post as Director of Funeral Operations.

Alan McWalter the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee is also retiring from the Board of Dignity plc with effect from 31 January 2018 after nine years service with the Group. He will not be replaced as, given the retirement of Andrew Davies, the Group will still retain an equal number of Executive and Non-Executive Directors.

Peter Hindley, Chairman of Dignity, commented: "Alan has made a very valuable contribution over the nine years he has been with Dignity, both as a Non-Executive Director and latterly as both our Senior Independent Director and the Chair of our Remuneration Committee. I would like to put on record my appreciation of his hard work and dedication over what has been a very successful period for Dignity."

At the time of Alan McWalter’s retirement David Blackwood will be appointed as Dignity’s Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Mary McNamara will become the Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

For further information please contact:

Dignity plc
Peter Hindley - Chairman
Richard Portman - Corporate Services Director and Company Secretary
Telephone: 0121-354-1557

Richard Oldworth
Catriona Flint
Telephone: 0207-466-5000

Back to Article index

Top of page